o_hai_bb ([info]o_hai_bb) wrote in [info]fashin,

THE TRUTH BEHIND GEIL MAGAZINE

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

"Geil Magazine is a fake magazine that has been set up by a con artist named Dan Mancinetti. He has done his “work” in many cities, first claiming to be a freelance editor for Arena Homme Plus, New York Times, Upstreet, Surface, Flaunt, amongst others. No direct contact is ever made with the magazines, and no stories ever get published. All billing goes to his “people”, burning all involved for any expenses incurred (photographers, model agencies, hair&make-up agencies, photo studios, labs, etc.) Many samples to showrooms never get returned, as he claims things are lost or stolen. He has done his scam in London, New York, Milano, Sydney, & Berlin.

As he had various magazine pursuing legal action against him, he now creates his own magazine titles that he is “launching”. First he had “Tesao!Mag” supposedly based in Milano, now he has “Geil” supposedly based in Berlin.

He has been run out of London, Milano, and Sydney; and is currently working out of Berln. The story came out in the Sydney Morning Herald: see article intitled “Why The Cheese Set Is Cheesed Off”
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2008/05/30/1211654305479.html

Be aware that all contacts for Geil Magazine are only various email addresses that Mr. Mancinetti has set up and answers himself, pretending to be these various individuals. Current names he uses are Jason Bohrt, Peter Sullivan, Stacy (jason,peter,stacy@geilmagazine.com) although this list is always changing. He himself goes by Dan, Daniele, or Daniel Mancinetti and “works” as the editor & chief / fashion director for Geil Magazine.

Please be advised of the danger in working with this individual. Any further investigation into the history of Mr. Mancinetti, will only confirm & prove these facts."

-I work at a fashion house and can back up all of this. Geil is a publication built on lies and fraud. He has yet to return thousands of dollars worth of merchandise and I know I am not the only PR firm/fashion house that is taking legal action against Geil. I advise all stylists, models, photographers, and PR firms, to avoid working with this publication.

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 46 comments
Previous
← Ctrl← Alt
  • 1
  • 2
Next
Ctrl →Alt →

[info]edwac

July 25 2010, 15:45:36 UTC 1 year ago

God damn. This is some mass thieving.
This person has to be smart to pull this kind of shit off.

Epic. Just like the Stephanie Seymour art heist.

[info]arrivetoolate

July 25 2010, 15:48:02 UTC 1 year ago

Well holy shit.

I'm impressed, tbqh.

[info]potterpie

July 25 2010, 15:49:49 UTC 1 year ago

shit wow he is quite clever tbh
giving me catch me if you can vibes

[info]150daysoffall

July 25 2010, 15:51:16 UTC 1 year ago

Man, I like Geil....

[info]potterpie

July 25 2010, 15:53:26 UTC 1 year ago

so does it actually sell in any stores? i'm confused

[info]edwac

1 year ago

[info]destroyedatsea

July 25 2010, 15:55:32 UTC 1 year ago

K what a cunt.

But a crafty cunt.

[info]yummy_minogue

July 25 2010, 16:02:58 UTC 1 year ago

Thumbs Up

That's how you pull a mother-fucking stunt

[info]_clubsandwiches

July 25 2010, 16:03:28 UTC 1 year ago

damn what a smart son of a bitch

[info]tres_francais

July 25 2010, 16:11:38 UTC 1 year ago

Their first issue was definitely published, I bought it at a sort of magazine store here in France

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

[info]arrivetoolate

July 25 2010, 16:12:19 UTC 1 year ago

It looks so good, though.

[info]bidanas18

July 25 2010, 16:24:05 UTC 1 year ago

idg why everyone is calling him clever.it's not like he didn't know he'd get caught and now he's gonna get fucked from everyone taking legal action against him...

[info]chung_____chung

July 25 2010, 16:38:41 UTC 1 year ago

idk, i googled this after reading the post and I found 2 bits from really far ends of the internet (like a random comment on a blog) that this is copy and pasted from verbatim.

However, if you google Geil Magazine or the publisher, you find a lot of positive stuff without any mention of this and stuff like him hanging out with JD Fergusen
http://twitpic.com/1twmtz

[info]chung_____chung

July 25 2010, 16:34:08 UTC 1 year ago

ok, he is a cheat but hot damn the content of the magazine is great

http://forums.thefashionspot.com/showpost.php?p=7602931&postcount=331

and it appears to be a real magazine, just a shady person running it.

[info]bidanas18

July 25 2010, 17:00:25 UTC 1 year ago

not bad,maybe a bit contrived

[info]quote_me_once

July 25 2010, 17:31:13 UTC 1 year ago

hm, wow. if only he put his knowledge to good use.
five dollars here says someone makes a movie based off of him.

[info]purrmeowsqueek

July 25 2010, 17:53:46 UTC 1 year ago

o so no wonder i'd never heard of it when those covers got posted
work tbh

[info]vilain_garcon

July 25 2010, 17:57:25 UTC 1 year ago

omg...

[info]omwstunning

July 25 2010, 17:57:29 UTC 1 year ago

Work @ this, smart motha fuckas

[info]hifashionisto

July 25 2010, 18:06:39 UTC 1 year ago

Dan said this was untrue. If it was, I don't see how the magazine would continue...you know?

[info]vilain_garcon

July 25 2010, 18:32:55 UTC 1 year ago

i wonder who he pissed off for someone to go through this much trouble to start this rumor?

[info]myxwill

July 25 2010, 18:12:46 UTC 1 year ago

This magazine looked pretty legitimate. There are many indie fashion magazines that I've never heard of so I didn't much of it.

[info]ontheinternet

July 25 2010, 18:51:14 UTC 1 year ago

appropriate tbh

[info]sevenbeat

July 25 2010, 19:56:25 UTC 1 year ago

Re: appropriate tbh

lmao

[info]chung_____chung

July 25 2010, 21:01:08 UTC 1 year ago

Some googling shows that the guy who wrote this and posted it all over the internet is a photog named Doug Ordway.

[info]heeldig

July 25 2010, 21:48:58 UTC 1 year ago

if this is true, it's a shame that he didn't just continue the magazine. it would've been fantastic.

[info]nostopplx

July 25 2010, 22:25:12 UTC 1 year ago

omg :( I got so excited about this magazine too.

[info]parei_dolia

July 25 2010, 23:18:39 UTC 1 year ago

Wow, just wow.

[info]deerlike

July 26 2010, 06:08:36 UTC 1 year ago

So wait... is this magazine a hoax or not?

[info]deadpresident

July 26 2010, 07:27:43 UTC 1 year ago

it's real, i've seen it at Borders in Los Angeles

[info]bohhead

July 26 2010, 06:47:41 UTC 1 year ago

er i r confused. wtf is going on?

[info]yeslets

July 26 2010, 12:48:32 UTC 1 year ago

Last year when I was working in fashion PR for a pretty big label (shows in Paris, you'd know the name, etc), I remember loaning samples to John Tan (I think), shooting something for Geil. We got them back, no drama, and I have seen the magazine in print. I have never dealt with the Mancinetti guy though, just a stylist shooting something for Geil.

So, who knows!

[info]zygopetalum

July 31 2010, 05:53:00 UTC 1 year ago

Maybe if they go through the photographers/stylists who are working on the shoot rather then through Geil there aren't any problems.

[info]saintstanley

July 26 2010, 14:21:54 UTC 1 year ago



i know this is dead but i just found him on facebook lol
he is the one w the glasses
Previous
← Ctrl← Alt
  • 1
  • 2
Next
Ctrl →Alt →
Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Facebook Twitter More login options
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…